Domain -

Domain Biography

Melodic Power - Germany

Domain discography

Domain biography

Domain first captured a special place in the hearts of fans of melodic metal back in the 80s with their first works, "Lost In The City" (still under the old band name KINGDOM), " Before The Storm " and "Crack in The Wall", as well as with their hit songs such as 'Lost In The City' and ‚ 'I Don’t Wanna Die'.

But it was their come back albums, " One Million Lightyears From Home " (2001), " The Artefact " (2002) and " The Sixth Dimension " (2003) as well as a successful tour with the rock legends, Glenn Hughes and Joe Lynn Turner (HTP) that secured the quintet a firm place in the Champions League of the European Melodic Metal scene. Harder but also epicer than ever before, DOMAIN is still impressing thousands of fans in this, the 21st century, with their perfect mixture of progressive, melodic and symphonic music. And that is when the career of the excellent guitarist Axel "Ironfinger" Ritt, ex-vocalist Carsten Lizard Schulz (Evidence One et al.), and the long-term band mates keyboarder Erdmann Lange, ex-bass player Jochen Mayer (Boysvoice, Demon Drive, Casanova) and the ex-drummer Stefan Köllner really began…

In 2005 the band again hit a high score with the concept album, "Last Days Of Utopia", based on an idea of ex-singer Carsten Lizard Schulz. And to accompany the ambitious work, which truly demanded all the talent and energy that the band could muster, they found a great partner in Limb Music Products, who were to accompany them during their extensive projects in the years to come. With "Last Days Of Utopia" and a bunch of older hits in their luggage, DOMAIN - on their Melodic Metal Alliance Tour didn't just please the fans. As promotion for their albums " One Million Lightyears From Home ", "New Horizons", " The Artefact ", " The Sixth Dimension " and " The Essence Of Glory " (a limited edition Best Of album) which had been newly released in Asia, they went on tour through Korea. At the Busan Festival DOMAIN were greeted by 25,000 fanatical fans like superstars. They also played a live show on Koreas' biggest Saturday night TV show to millions of viewers.

The success gave the band wings, and punctually for their 20th anniversary, DOMAIN pulled another stroke of genius out of their proverbial sleeve. Under the productional guidance of Axel Ritt himself, several prominent musicians were invited to play on the new album " Stardawn ". Amongst these are Ferdy Doernberg (Axel Rudi Pell, Uli Jon Roth) and Michael Voss (Casanova), as well as the vocal acrobats of Tarek Maghary (Majesty), Val Halla Jr. (Iron Mask) and Connie Andreszka (Circle Of Pain), who appear on the album as the " Stardawn er Boys Choir" for incredible backing voices (e.g. on 'Crystal Stone Island', 'Temple Of The Earth', 'Headfirst Into Disaster'…), thus impressively underscoring the extreme versatility of the album's character. It doesn't matter whether the CD player's layer head reaches the fabulous cover version of Chris de Burgh's 'Don't Pay The Ferryman', the rocking 'Headfirst Into Disaster' or the extraordinary guitar fireworks at the start of 'All In The Name Of Fire', " Stardawn " documents all the band's strengths in an incredible manner.

And with the 25-minute long epic 'Shadowhall', which, in a musical-like fashion describes the rise and fall of a vampire clan, DOMAIN again sets songwriting standards against which all other bands of today's Melodic Metal scene will be compared.

The new album will in addition be released as a limited edition 2CD/DVD digipak with a great DVD including a 40 minute long tour documentary entitled "7 days in Korea" with comments and interviews with Carsten Lizard Schulz and Axel Ritt, a 35 minute long live clip from the Busan Festival, a 15 minute long TV documentary etc., etc. and an additional Best Of CD with the very best from the albums "Lost In The City", " Before The Storm ", " Crack In The Wall ", " One Million Lightyears From Home ", " The Artefact “ and " The Sixth Dimension ", as well as two cover songs which have until now only been released on two compilation CDs, ('Stormbringer’ and 'Over The Hills And Far Away’). There just isn't better value for money!

DOMAIN's line-up changed again in a significant way (2007): bassplayer Steven Wussow (Shylock, Iridium, Misfits & Fjuse), drummer Jens Baar (Illectronic Rock) and vocalist Nicolaj Ruhnow (Irony, Nick Hellfort) are high talented and passionate musicians who closing the ranks of DOMAIN MKIII in summer 2007. After a successful European-Tour 2007 DOMAIN entered the Meadows Studios in Darmstadt (Germany) to lay down their new Masterpiece:

" THE CHRONICLES OF LOVE, HATE AND SORROW " - Vocalist Nicolaj Ruhnow created a 10 chapter enfolding interpretation of a drama, based on the legendary epistolary novel DIE LEIDEN DES JUNGEN WERTHER by famous German poet Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. The opus will be performed by guitarist Axel Ritt, keyboarder Erdmann Lange, bassplayer Steven Wussow and Nicolaj Ruhnow himself, enriched with hard and anthem metal, epic heavy rock and ballad elements. Released for the first time in 1774, the story DIE LEIDEN DES JUNGEN WERTHER became a key work in German literature regarding the "Storm And Stress" period and describes an impossible love against all moral concepts, which provokes extreme emotional reactions up to the point of a spate of suicides among young readers of the novel.

One more time, the upcoming album is produced by mastermind Axel Ritt and will be released at their longtime Label-Company Limb Music Products & Publishing, Hamburg. DOMAIN's new masterpiece will be distributed worldwide in 2009.