Ensiferum -

Ensiferum Biography

Power Metal - Finland

Ensiferum discography

Ensiferum biography

Ensiferum was formed by Markus Toivonen (guitar), Sauli Savolainen (bass) ja Kimmo Miettinen (drums) in 1995. At the end of 1996 they were joined by Jari Mäenpää on guitar and vocals. Markus discovered the word "Ensiferum" in a latin dictionary when looking for a band name, the word and meaning was perfect for the band he aimed to create.

The band recorded their first Demo in 1997, which sold almost 300 copies in the first year.

The band then went on to record a 2nd demo in 1999, which Ensiferum narrowly missed a record deal from. The band then recorded a 3rd demo in 1999. This consisted of 5 tracks & was branded with the newer band logo.

Once Spinefarm records got hold of the demo in 2000, they began to negotiate a record deal with the band. The band recorded their debut album in November 2000 and had it mixed by spring 2001. The album was released in July receiving tremendous feedback.

To record " Iron " Ensiferum travelled all the way to Copenhagen's Sweet Silence studios in the summer of 2003. The band did this for the famed producer Flemming Rasmussen, who has in the past recorded and produced such albums as Metallica's "Master of Puppets" and "Ride the Lightning". " Iron " was then recorded, produced and mixed by him.

Ensiferum then went on to record the 2006 EP "Dragonheads" with new vocalist Petri Lindroos of Norther. Keyboard player Meiju Enho left the band in September 2007 and was replaced by session keyboard player Emmi Silvennoinen, until she was inducted as a full member in 2009.

The first Live DVD was released in the summer of 2006, having been recorded on the band's 10th Anniversary (December 31st 2005)

" Victory Songs " was released on Spinefarm Records in April 2007. The new album " From Afar " was released in September 2009.